One of WhatsApp’s best features is getting a big upgrade
WhatsApp’s disappearing messages option will soon let you choose whether messages are deleted after a week or just 24 hours.
In the latest beta versions of WhatsApp for Android and iOS, there are signs of an updated self-destructing message feature that will eventually make its way to all users when testing is over.
- Find out how to use WhatsApp dark mode
- You can also enable dark mode for Facebook
- Finish the set with Instagram dark mode
It’s already possible to send messages that are deleted after a week, and earlier this week, references to a 24-hour option were also spotted by the sleuths at WABetaInfo.
Initially, it was thought that the option to have messages vanish after a day would replace the option to have them stick around for a week, but now it seems that you’ll be given a choice between the two.
While the choice is presently noticeable in the iOS and Android beta applications, a similar component ought to likewise be accessible in the work area and web form of WhatsApp. As these are probably going to be empowered utilizing a worker side update, there is no indication of this at the present time, be that as it may.
See it while you can
It doesn’t look like WhatsApp will allow you to choose a custom time window for your messages to remain live, which may come as a disappointment, but the added flexibility of a 24-hour option gives a welcome extra level of security.
For the moment, the new feature can only be seen in the latest WhatsApp beta, but even then it’s not functioning for testers to try out properly. It’s impossible to say when the new option will be available worldwide, but WhatsApp will be making sure that all of the kinks are ironed out before it gets a wider rollout.